Royals Ben called up for Cameroon – Reading Today Online

ROYALS fans will have an additional reason to tune in to the African Cup of Nations when it kicks off later this month – Ben Elliott will be featuring.

The 21-year-old midfielder will be missing out on tackling Port Vale and Wigan so he can join Cameroon’s national side.

He already has four caps to his name, and will be hoping to add to that during the tournament, which takes place on The Ivory Coast.

His first was as a sub during a friendly against Mexico in March 2023.

And he came off the bench during a World Cup qualifier against over Mauritius in November.

Cameroon have won the tournament five times. Two years ago, the squad came third.

This time, they have been drawn in Group C.

The squad’s first match will be against Guinea on Monday, January 15.

They then play Senegal on Thursday, January 19, and Gambia on Tuesday, January 23.

The Round of 16 takes place from Saturday, January 27 through to Tuesday, January 30.

Quarter finals will be on Friday, February 2 and Saturday, February 3. Semi-finals follow on Wednesday, February 7.

The third-place play-off will be on Saturday, February 10, and then the final on Sunday, February 11.

For the Royals, Elliott has played 25 times this season, establishing himself as a core part of the League One side’s team.

He is also eligible to play for the Under 21s.

A spokesperson for Reading FC said: “Everyone at Reading wishes you and Cameroon the best of luck, Ben.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *